The Philip A. Tripp Distinguished Service Award

The Philip A. Tripp Distinguished Service Award is presented annually by OCPA to a student affairs professional in recognition of extended illustrious service to our field. The purpose of the award is to recognize seasoned members of the profession.

The selection criteria for the Philip A. Tripp Distinguished Service Award are as follows:

  • A minimum of fifteen (15) years of professional involvement in the field of student affairs.
  • Significant and outstanding contributions to the profession through administration, writing, teaching, research and service to professional organizations.

past winners


Dr. Gerald L. Saddlemire, Bowling Green State University


Dr. Mark Noffsinger, Baldwin Wallace College


Not Awarded


Dr. Fayetta Paulsen, Bowling Green State University


Dr. Robert Rodgers, The Ohio State University


Dr. Alexander "Lex" Smith


Dr. Robert Etheridge, Miami University


Dr. Donald Schweingruber, Bluffton College

1989 Audrey Rentz, Bowling Green State University
1989 Steve Markwood, Marietta College
1990 Dr. Robert Young, Kent State University
1990 Joel Rudy, Ohio University
1991 Dr. Robert E. Oleson, Heidelberg
1992 Sue Heimann, Ashland University
1993 Dr. Derrell Hart, Miami University
1993 Robert Gatti, Otterbein University
1994 Susan Eklund-Leen, Antioch College
1995 Joanne Risascher, Wright State University
1996-1999 Not Awarded
1999 Dr. Robert Dubick, The University of Akron
2000 Dr. Patrick Love, Kent State University
2001-2002 Not Awarded
2003 Dr. Nancy Scott, Kent State University
2004 Dr. Louise A. Douce, The Ohio State University
2005 Not Awarded
2006 Dr. Michael D. Coomes, Bowling Green State University
2007 Chuck Rickard, Kent State University
2008 Not Awarded
2009 Dan Abrahamowicz, Wright State University
2010-2011 Not Awarded
2012 John Berry, The Ohio State University - Newark & COTC
2013 Dr. Peter Mather, Ohio University
2014 Not Awarded
2015 Dr. John Messina, The University of Akron
2016 Not Awarded
2017 Dr. Maureen Wilson, Bowling Green State University
2018 Dr. Mark Kretovics, Kent State University
2019 Dr. Jason Pina, Ohio University
2020 Dr. Laura Harrison, Ohio University
2021 Dr. Jenny Hall-Jones