The Gerald L. Saddlemire Mentor Award

Gerald Saddlemire was an effective administrator, a true scholar, an educator, and a mentor who accepted each person as a unique individual, and believed that the ability and potential of those individuals was the profession's greatest asset. This award is presented to the student personnel professional with a demonstrated history of mentorship who embodies and advances the true spirit and ideals of Dr. Gerald L. Saddlemire.

The selection criteria for the Gerald L. Saddlemire Mentor Award are as follows:

  • Serves as a mentor and role model to graduate and/or undergraduate students and other student affairs professionals.
  • Known as a supportive and educational administrator.
  • Significant contributions to the ideals of the student affairs profession.

past winners


Becky Smith, Otterbein


Willie J. Young, Ohio State University


Jeanne Likins, JML Associates


Francis Pearson, Ohio University


Sue Heimann, Ashland


Not Awarded


Ralph Carapellotti, Baldwin Wallace


Dr. Oscar McKnight, Ashland

2000 Not Awarded
2001 JoAnn Kroll, Bowling Green
200 Eric L. Dicken, Case Western
200 Joyce Jadwin, Otterbein
2004 Dr. Edward Whipple, Bowling Green
2005 Kimberly M. Ferguson, Capital
2006 Jennifer Grube Vestal, Denison
2007 Kathy Morris, Wright State
2008 Verne Walker, Owens Community College
2009 Karl Rishe, Case Western
2010 Not Awarded
2011 Lisa Patterson Phillips, Otterbein
2012 Vicka Bell-Robinson, Miami
2013 Not Awarded
2014 Ryan Brechbill, Otterbein
2015 Not Awarded
2016 Dr. Jenny Hall-Jones, Ohio University
2017 John L. Frazier, The University of Mount Union
2018 Dr. Jason Pena, Ohio University
2019 Nancy Rutkowski, Ohio Wesleyan University
2020 Kim Tackett, The Ohio State University
2021 Dr. Kristen Lindsay, University of Findlay