The Fayetta M. Paulsen Accomplished Leader Award

The Fayetta M. Paulsen Accomplished Leader Award is presented by OCPA to a student affairs professional who has, through outstanding leadership, made significant contributions to the field and to the institution of which the professional is a part. The professional has achieved innovative responses in meeting the varied and emerging needs of today's students.

About Fayetta M. Paulsen

In June of 1990, Fayetta M. Paulsen retired as the Assistant VicePresident for Student Affairs and Residential Services at Bowling GreenState University. This event honors her 27 years of service to theUniversity. While at BGSU, she also served as the Associate Dean ofStudents, Acting Dean of Students, and Dean of Women. Prior tocoming to Bowling Green, she was Dean of Women at Luther College,Associate Professor and Chair of Health and Physical Education forWomen at Augustana College, and Professor and Acting Director ofHealth and Physical Education for Women at St. Olaf College.

Professional organizations played an important part of Ms. Paulsen's career. She served aspresident of OAWDAC, OCPA, and the Ohio Association of Student Personnel Administrators(OASPA.) Additionally, she held several offices within the National Association of Women Deans,Administrators, and Counselors. She also published articles in the Journal of NAWDAC andFraternity Month. She made presentations throughout the state, region, and nation.

Ms. Paulsen died February 20, 2005. (

Past recipients


Dr. Fiona MacKinnon, Bowling Green State University


Not Awarded


Denise Reading, Baldwin Wallace University


Not Awarded


Tracy Benner, Otterbein College


Robin Gagnow, Kent State University

2003 - 2005

Not Awarded


Paul Putnam, Cleveland State University

2007 Dwayne Todd, Columbus College of Art & Design
2008-2012 Not Awarded
2013 Dr. Julie Ann Snyder, Bowling Green State University
2014 Dr. Roxanne DuVivier, Wright State University
2015 Brandon Mikulski, The University of Akron
2016 Karen Hagans, Ashland University
2017 Lacey Filkins, Kenyon College
2018 Dr. Vicka Bell-Robinson, Miami University
2019 G. Dean Patterson, Case Western Reserve University
2020 Leslie Page, Youngstown State University
2021 Dr. Sandra Emerick, NEOMED