OCPA Innovative Program

The Innovative Program Award is presented annually by OCPA to a student affairs professional who has initiated a new program or unique approach to a college policy, program, or problem. Through this award, OCPA recognizes innovative and effective approaches directed towards meeting the changing needs of students on the campus and the applicability of these approaches to other campuses.

The selection criteria for the Innovative Program Award are as follows:

  • Addresses a challenging situation and/or specific campus concern or need.
  • Provides an explanation of how the program or policy addressed the identified concern or need.
  • Provides a description of how the policy or program could be implemented on other campuses.

Past Recipients


Steve Miller, Hocking Technical College




Maximizing Residence Hall Space, Ashland University


Wellness Center, Bowling Green State University


Peter Rea, Baldwin-Wallace College


The Wellness Book of Records, Ohio University


Area Residence Life Conference


OU-START, Ohio University

1989 Student Affairs Intern Program, Ashland University
1990 S.P.R.O.U.T., Single Parents Reaching Out for Unassisted Tomorrow's, Baldwin Wallace College
1991 S.U.C.C.E.S.S., Students Utilizing Co-Curricular Experiences toSharpen Skills, Ashland University
1992 Student Ambassador Program, Columbus State University
1993 Building a Community of Respect, Ashland University
1994 University SEEDS Program, Kent State University
1995 Problems in Contemporary Communities: A New Approach to Linking Services with the Western Curriculum, Scott Markland
1996 Residence Life Assistants, Ashland University
1997 N/A
1998 Welcome to CSU Week, Cleveland State University
1999 Talkin' in the Halls, Ashland University
2000 Greek Value Society, Miami University
2001 Greek Leadership Conference, Capital University
2002 First Year Challenge, Cleveland State University
2003 The New Diversity Initiative, Baldwin Wallace University
2004 "Imagine 2004" Conference, Kent State University
2005 FOCUS Center, Cleveland State University
2006 N/A
2011 The Women's Circle at The Ohio State University
2012 N/A
2013 Open Doors Program, The Ohio State University
2014 Peer-Student Conduct Process, Urbana University, Mitch Joseph
2015 Wellness Coaching, The Ohio State University
2016 The Productivity Circle, Denison University
2017 Weaver Wednesday, Kenyon College
2018 Oh-Wooo Program, Ohio Wesleyan University
2019 Business Ready Program, Kent State University, Andrew Weyand
2020 Thwingo, Case Western Reserve University
2021 Second-Year Transformational Experience Program (STEP), Ohio State University