The Gerald L. Saddlemire Mentor Award

Gerald Saddlemire was an effective administrator, a true scholar, an educator, and a mentor who accepted each person as a unique individual, and believed that the ability and potential of those individuals was the profession’s greatest asset. This award is presented to the student personnel professional with a demonstrated history of mentorship who embodies and advances the true spirit and ideals of Dr. Gerald L. Saddlemire.

The selection criteria for the Gerald L. Saddlemire Mentor Award are as follows:

  • Serves as a mentor and role model to graduate and/or undergraduate students and other student affairs professionals.
  • Known as a supportive and educational administrator.
  • Significant contributions to the ideals of the student affairs profession.

past winners


Becky Smith, Otterbein


Willie J. Young, Ohio State University


Jeanne Likins, JML Associates


Francis Pearson, Ohio University


Sue Heimann, Ashland


Not Awarded


Ralph Carapellotti, Baldwin Wallace


Dr. Oscar McKnight, Ashland

2001 Not Awarded
2002 JoAnn Kroll, Bowling Green
2003 Eric L. Dicken, Case Western
2004 Joyce Jadwin, Otterbein
2005 Dr. Edward Whipple, Bowling Green
2006 Kimberly M. Ferguson, Capital
2007 Jennifer Grube Vestal, Denison
2008 Kathy Morris, Wright State
2009 Verne Walker, Owens Community College
2010 Karl Rishe, Case Western
2011 Not Awarded
2012 Lisa Patterson Phillips, Otterbein
201 Vicka Bell-Robinson, Miami
2014 Not Awarded
2015 Ryan Brechbill, Otterbein
2016 Not Awarded
2017 Dr. Jenny Hall-Jones, Ohio University
2018 John L. Frazier, The University of Mount Union
2019 Dr. Jason Pena, Ohio University
2020 Nancy Rutkowski, Ohio Wesleyan University